1. Sale Deed

The registration of sale deed or transfer deed is mandatory and once the sale deed is registered in Sub-Registrar office, the ownership gets transferred to the new owner. Stamp duty and registration fee have to be paid to register the SALE DEED. The fees can vary from State to State. In Maharashtra you have to pay 6% of the market value of the property as Stamp Duty and 1% as Registration Fee.

2. Gift Deed

If you would like to gift the property to any of your blood relative, Gift deed can be used. In case of immovable property, it is mandatory to register the Gift Deed as per Section 17 of the Registration Act, 1908. The stamp duty on gift deed is generally less than the stamp duty that is applicable for selling the property through a Sale Deed. Stamp duty is Rs 1000 and Rs 500 as registration fee in case if the donee is a specified Family member. In case of non-family member then it is 3% & 1% respectively.

3. Relinquishment Deed / Release Deed

The Relinquishment deed has to be registered and applicable stamp duty has to be paid. The stamp duty has to be paid only on the portion of the property that is being relinquished and not on the total value of the property. Generally the applicable fee is similar to that of a Gift Deed.

4. Partition Deed / Settlement Deed

The deed of settlement attracts stamp duty and registration of the settlement deed is compulsory.  The stamp duty payable is similar to that payable on a sale deed. In case of non-family member then it is 6% & 1% respectively. Partition Deed also has to be registered.

5. Inheritance / WILL Deed

After the death of owner of a property his heirs, such as wife, children i.e. male and female, married or unmarried may, as per respective personal law, get the Khata transferred on production of death certificate of the owner with details of property held by him. Registration of WILL DEED is not compulsory. Stamp duty charges are not applicable but registration fee of Rs 200 is applicable.